Reelworld Film Festival

Trailblazer Award History

2023 Trailblazers

Andrew Phung

Actor, Writer, Producer

Farid Yazdani

Actor, Producer & Writer,

Amanda Strong

Filmmaker & Media Artist and Stop-Motion Director

Marie Ka

Producer & Co-Founder of Inaru Films

Winnifred Jong

Director & Filmmaker

Fawzia Mirza

Director & Writer

2022 Trailblazers

Jorge Camarotti

Photographer/Director

Sonya Carey

Animator

Kelly Fyffe-Marshall

Director/Screenwriter

Shant Joshi

Producer

Barbara Ka Yee Lee

Founder & President -

Vancouver Asian Film Festival

Joel Ouelette

Actor

2021 Trailblazers

Carson Ting

Alicia K. Harris

Filmmaker/Director

Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers

Director

Shivani Saini

Producer/Consultant

Amber Sekowan-Daniels

Screenwriter/Comedian/Creator

Gyimah Gariba

Visual Artist/Illustrator

2020 Trailblazers

Iris Ng

Cinematographer

Thyrone Tommy

Director

Lisa Meeches

Executive Producer

Cash B. Lim

Head of Studio Operations

Anand Ramayya

Producer

Karen Chapman

2019 Trailblazers

Ferah Merani

Actor/Filmmaker/Advocate

Albert Shin

Director

Nyla Innuksuk

Emmanuel Kabongo

Natalie Younglai

Writer/Director

Mohit rajhans

2018 Trailblazers

Lyriq Bent

Actor

Tracey Deer

Writer/Director

Samantha Wan

Actress/Writer/Producer

Simu Liu

Actor/Writer/Producer

Huse Madhavii

Marsha Greene

2015 Trailblazers

Jeff Barnaby

Filmmaker

Cara Gee

Actress

Abby Ho

Shannon Kook

Lisa Berry

Actress

Narine Dat Sookram

Producer/Author/Host

2014 Trailblazers

Roy T. Anderson

Filmmaker

Ins Choi

Waawaate Fobister

Actor/Playwright

Sangita Patel

Report

Kim Roberts

Ellen Wong

2013 Trailblazers

Michelle Latimer

Omari Newton Actor

Hayley Philips

Karen Williams-Posival

Agent

Naveen Prasad

Distributor/Producer

Arthur Yeung Composer

2012 Trailblazers

Nathaniel Arcand

Shernold Edwards Screenwriter/Director

Lisa Jackson

Rupinder Nagra

Heidi Tao Yang

Tushar Unadkat

Director/Producer

2011 Trailblazers

Vinessa Antoine

Actress

Cle Bennet

Sarah Podemski

Vikas Kholi

Composer

Tricia Lee

Lee Kim

Producer

Reelworld Film Festival

Trailblazer Award History

2010 Trailblazers

Vincent Galvez

Writer/Producer/Director

Mpho Koaho

Lalita Krishna

Director

Darlene Naponse Filmmaker/Poet

Kevin Pennant

Publicist

Jeffrey Remedios Record Producer

2009 Trailblazers

Karla Bobadilla

Business and Legal Affairs

Diego Fuentes

Actor

Zacharias Kunuk

Filmmaker

Lisa Ray Actress

Warren Sonoda

Mark Taylor

2008 Trailblazers

Andre Beraud

Producer

KC Collins

Actor

Jani Lauzon

Actress

Lisa Mahal

Actress/Producer

Austin Wong

Byron Wong

Composer

2007 Trailblazers

Zarqa Nawaz

Filmmaker

Tamara Podemski

Elizabeth St. Philip

Filmmaker

Millie Tom

Casting Director

Awaovieyi Agie

Richie Metha

Director/Writer/Producer

2006 Trailblazers

Priya Rao

Julia Kwan

Filmmaker

Floyd Kane

Screenwriter/Producer

Annie Frazier Henry

Filmmaker

Hubert Davis

Filmmaker

2005 Trailblazers

Sadia Zaman

Journalist/Producer

Firdaus Kharas

Producer/Director

Noura Kevorkian

Alison J. Duke

Filmmaker

Walter Alza

2004 Trailblazers

Jason DaSilva

Filmmaker

Bobby Del Rio

Actor/Writer/Producer Richard Leacock

Sook-Yin Lee

Annmarie Morais

Ngozi Paul

2003 Trailblazers

Romeo Candido

Dawn Wilkinson

Filmmaker

Mary Jane Gomes

Filmmaker

Wesley Williams

Actor/Singer

Vanz Chapman

David 'Sudz' Sutherland

Filmmaker

Jennifer Holness

Producer

Jason Ebanks

Richard Fung

Video Artist

Kara Russell

Lawyer

Ruba Nadda

2002 Trailblazers

Andrew Rosen

Producer

Ann Shin

Filmmaker

Charles Officer

Deco Dawson

Filmmaker

Jason Tan

Cinematographer/Filmmaker

Kevin De Freitas

Lillyann Goldstein

Nathan Morlando

Director/Screenwriter

Naomi Hiltz

Director

Steve Whitehouse